Network Collaborators and Participating Sites

The Foundation for the National Institutes of Health is the grantee organization and responsible for reporting to the funder (BMGF) as required. FNIH will provide scientific, administrative, and financial oversight for the project. Dr. Michael Gottlieb is Co-Principal Investigator.

The Fogarty International Center at NIH will provide scientific oversight for all components of the project, including study design, quality control of data collection, data management, data analysis, monitoring of scientific progress, preparation of scientific progress reports, and publication plans. Dr. Mark Miller is Co-Principal Investigator.

Participating Field Sites

Each field site will be overseen by at least one Collaborating Researcher and a Site PI and will include staff engaged in clinical, laboratory and field activities.

For more information on each site, please follow the links in the map below to be directed to the site’s descriptive page

Brazil flag India flag
Nepal flag Pakistan flag Peru flag
South Africa flag Tanzania flag

Map of Sites and Institutions

network balloons

Collaborating Researchers and Institutions

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore, MD, USA: Dr. Robert Black, Dr. Laura Caulfield, Dr. Laura Murray-Kolb

University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA, USA: Dr. Richard Guerrant, Dr. William Petri, Dr. Patrick Concannon, Dr. Stephen Rich, Dr. Peter Patrick, Dr. Eric Houpt, Dr. Rebecca Dillingham

Armed Forces Research Institute of Medical Sciences Bangkok, Thailand: Dr. Carl Mason, Dr. Ladaporn Bodhidatta

Center for Genome Sciences, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO, USA: Dr. Jeffrey I. Gordon

University of Colorado at Boulder, Boulder, CO, USA: Dr. Rob Knight

Aga Khan University Karachi, Pakistan: Dr. Zulfiqar Bhutta, Dr. Anita Zaidi

Christian Medical College Vellore, Vellore, India: Dr. Gagandeep Kang

JHSPH Satellite Laboratory, Iquitos, Peru: Dr. Margaret Kosek

Federal University of Ceara in Fortaleza, Ceará, Brazil: Dr. Aldo A. M. Lima, Dr. Reinaldo B. Oriá

Walter Reed/AFRIMS Research Unit Kathmandu, Nepal: Dr. Sanjaya Kumar Shrestha

Department of Microbiology, University of Venda Limpopo, South Africa: Dr. Pascal Bessong

International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh Dhaka, Bangladesh: Dr. Rashidul Haque, Dr. Tahmeed Ahmed

Haydom Lutheran Hospital, Haydom, Tanzania: Dr. Erling Svensen